Find us on Facebook
  Follow us on Twitter
Photo by Dave Payne
Fri 03 May 2013 by Comets Press Office
Workington have today been confirmed as Premier League Pairs competitors at Somerset on Friday 31st May.
The line up for the 2013 Premier League Pairs has today been confirmed by the BSPA, with the Comets named as the third highest seeds based on qualifying averages.

This year's event will once again take place at Somerset's well-appointed Oak Tree Arena on what has become its traditional staging night - the night before the British Grand Prix at Cardiff, which means that this year's pairs event will take place on Friday 31st May when a bumper attendance is expected once again.

The Comets have won the title a total of six times previously, in a 14-year period, including last year when Adam Roynon and Rene Bach lifted the trophy after getting he better of Scunthorpe in the Final, with Leicester and hosts Somerset the defeated semi-finalists - all four teams will be back to contest the event once again.

Since the Comets lifted the title in 2008 courtesy of Daniel Nermark and Kauko Nieminen the Comets have occupied final positions of 4th, 3rd, 2nd and then winners in the last four seasons.

Qualification for the meeting remains on the basis of the top three riders in each club's averages, with May figures used, and the competing teams will then nominate two of those three riders to take part.

SpeedwayGB Events co-ordinator David Hoggart said: “The Premier League Pairs has become firmly established as the gateway to Cardiff, and it is always a tremendous meeting on a great racetrack.

“It is a shame that the formula does not allow every club to compete as Premier League fans are witnessing some excellent racing right now.

“I must commiserate with Rye House, Redcar and Newcastle, but add that their supporters will be most welcome at the Oak Tree Arena to enjoy the famous Somerset hospitality.”

The teams start off in two groups af five, with the top two teams from each group progressing the semi-finals, and with that, the winners of each semi-final entering the Grand Final.

GROUP A: Somerset, Glasgow, Ipswich, Scunthorpe, Berwick.

GROUP B: Edinburgh, Workington, Plymouth, Sheffield, Leicester.
Copyright Notice :  The text content of articles appearing on this website may be copied and/or reproduced for other media outlets and formats providing the article remains intact and unedited, and the source is clearly acknowledged as ""
Last Updated :  Sat 04 May 2013, 00:04 UK - official club website.
©2019 Workington Speedway. All Rights Reserved.

Dave Payne, Adrian Randall