Find us on Facebook
  Follow us on Twitter
Comets duo in British Under-19 Final
Photo by Dave Payne
Fri 23 Aug 2013 by Comets Press Office
Kyle and Ashley named in Coventry British title line-up
Comets riders Kyle Howarth and Ashley Morris have been named in the 16-rider field for the British under-19 Championship, which takes place at Coventry on Friday 20th September.

The field also includes reigning champion Stefan Nielsen (Somerset) and Kyle's fellow World Under-21 Championship Wild Card Adam Ellis (Ipswich).

Comets team manager Tony Jackson said: β€œIt is great to see a steady stream of talent coming through the system and we are sure that both Kyle and Ashley are in with a chance of doing well in this meeting and although anything can happen on the night it would be terrific if they can win it or finish on the podium. But, if Kyle rides like he did at Berwick in the recent World under-21 Final he has to be one of the favourites to take the title.”

With both Kyle and Ashley having turned 19 years of age this year this will be their last chance at taking this title, although they will still have a couple of years left to make a mark on the British under-21 title, which was won earlier this year by Robert Branford.

Four of the riders who have won British titles at junior (under-15) level are included in the field – Brandon Freemantle, Nathan Stoneman, Nathan Greaves and our own Ashley Morris. Meanwhile, Britain's World 250cc Champion Daniel Spiller, who is based in Germany, has been handed a Wild Card for the meeting although 15-year-old sensation Robert Lambert, who rides for King's Lynn in the National League, is unavailable due to prior commitments.

The full line-up is: Josh Bates (Mildenhall), Liam Carr (Buxton), Max Clegg (Dudley), Connor Coles (Kent), Adam Ellis (Ipswich/Isle of Wight), Brandon Freemantle (Isle of Wight), Nathan Greaves (Dudley), Oliver Greenwood (Coventry), Kyle Howarth (Workington/Swindon), Ben Morley (Kent), Ashley Morris (Workington/Dudley), Stefan Nielsen (Somerset/Mildenhall), Darryl Ritchings (Isle of Wight), James Shanes (Coventry), Daniel Spiller (Unattached), Nathan Stoneman (Mildenhall). Reserves: Adam Kirby (Kent) and Jack Kingston (Kent).
Copyright Notice :  The text content of articles appearing on this website may be copied and/or reproduced for other media outlets and formats providing the article remains intact and unedited, and the source is clearly acknowledged as ""
Last Updated :  Fri 23 Aug 2013, 17:50 UK - official club website.
©2019 Workington Speedway. All Rights Reserved.

Dave Payne, Adrian Randall