Due to demand Tai Woffinden is now to do an EXTRA SHOW at Workington earlier the same day!
  Find us on Facebook
  Follow us on Twitter
Mason Campton granted a 3 year visa
Photo by Dave Payne
Mon 16 Dec 2013 by Comets Press Office
Christmas arrived more than a week early for Mason and everyone connected with the Comets today with the news he has obtained his visa.
It may be a year later than originally planned but Mason will certainly be very keen to make up for lost time when he takes to the track in March.

Having been bought outright from Glasgow last winter he was lined up to be one of the Comets reserves in 2013 but just a few weeks into the season the Comets promotion was left reeling when it confirmed that he would not be getting a visa to enable him to return to Britain in time to race last season.

Then, when his subsequent appeal proved unsuccessful he was left with no option but to sit out the 2013 campaign and keep himself busy in Australia.

He has competed in several meetings back in Australia throughout the year and recently finished second in the Queensland under-21 championship and then first in the New South Wales under-21 championship.

He will take part in the qualifying round for the Australian championship on his home track of Kurri Kurri (New South Wales) on Friday January 3rd, and providing he finishes in one of the top eight qualifying positions he will join the eight seeded riders in the three-round series, which starts at Kurri Kurri the next day, January 4th, then moves on to Undera (Victoria) on Wednesday January 8th and finishes at Gillman (South Australia) on Saturday January 11th.

Mason's Comets team-mate Josh Grajczonek is one of the eight riders that have been seeded into the championship rounds along with (in alphabetical order); Troy Batchelor (SA-the defending champion), Jason Doyle (NSW), Chris Holder (NSW), Jack Holder (NSW), Dakota North (Vic), Rohan Tungate (NSW) and Cameron Woodward (Vic).

Meanwhile, the line-up for the qualifying meeting is:
Jake Allen (Qld), Hunter Anderson (NSW), Jake Anderson (Vic), Mason Campton (NSW), Matthew Day (Qld), Jye Etheridge (NSW), Max Fricke (Vic), Allan MacDonald (NSW), Sam Masters (NSW), Nick Morris (Qld), Tyson Nelson (Qld), Joey Ringwood (NSW), Justin Sedgmen (Vic), Tyson Snow (Qld), Daine Stevens (NSW), Brodie Waters (Vic), with Josh MacDonald (NSW) and Denny Cox (NSW) as reserves.
Copyright Notice :  The text content of articles appearing on this website may be copied and/or reproduced for other media outlets and formats providing the article remains intact and unedited, and the source is clearly acknowledged as "www.workingtoncomets.co"
Last Updated :  Mon 16 Dec 2013, 23:58 UK
www.workingtoncomets.co - official club website.
©2019 Workington Speedway. All Rights Reserved.

Dave Payne, Adrian Randall