Due to demand Tai Woffinden is now to do an EXTRA SHOW at Workington earlier the same day!
  Find us on Facebook
  Follow us on Twitter
Premier League Pairs line-ups announced
Photo by Dave Payne
Mon 30 Jun 2014 by Comets Press Office & BSPA Press Office
Details of this year's Premier League Pairs have been announced.
As announced at Derwent Park on Saturday evening, the Comets will this year be represented in the Premier League Pairs at Somerset, on the eve of the Cardiff Grand Prix, by Josh Grajczonek (a winner last year with Somerset when partnered by Jason Doyle)and Rene Bach (a winner with Workington in 2012 when partnered by Adam Roynon).

Meanwhile, defending champions Somerset have confirmed Nick Morris and Olly Allen will be their combination to defend the Premier League Pairs at the Oaktree Arena on Friday July 11th, with the earlier start time of 7:00pm.

The Rebels took victory in the event last year for the first time since it moved to their home circuit, with Jason Doyle and Josh Grajczonek being their successful partnership. But Doyle is now racing full-time in the Elite League with Leicester and of course Josh Grajczonek is now heading up the Workington challenge for 2014.

Somerset Team Manager Garry May said: “With each competing club required to nominate two out of their top three riders by average, it was a relatively straightforward choice.

“Both Nick and Olly have been excellent around the Oaktree Arena this season and fully deserve their opportunity to defend our PL Pairs crown.”

The Rebels' opposition in Group B includes runaway Premier League leaders Edinburgh, who will be represented by Sam Masters and Max Fricke with Craig Cook on duty as Wild Card at the British Grand Prix practice.

The group also contains former Somerset rider Claus Vissing, who now lines up for Berwick alongside David Bellego, whilst in-form Simon Stead (a former winner with Workington when he partnered Carl Stonehewer to victory in 2003) leads the Sheffield challenge along with Leigh Lanham, and Rasmus Jensen and Kalle Katajisto line up for the Rebels' local rivals Plymouth, with Ben Barker also attending the Cardiff Grand Prix practice.

Workington are the most successful club in the history of the competition; having been successful on a remarkable six occasions since the current Premier League structure was put in place in 1997; and having been runners-up in 2011, winners in 2012 and beaten semi-finalists in 2013 their recent record is very good at the Oaktree Arena.

The Comets are joined in Group A by newcomers Peterborough, who have selected Lasse Bjerre and former Comet Ulrich Ostergaard with regular No.1 Ryan Fisher currently on the sidelines.

Lewis Kerr is back from injury and earns a call-up to the major event for Newcastle alongside Stuart Robson, whilst Redcar will have high hopes with big-scoring No.1 and last year's Comets representative Richard Lawson joined by Aaron Summers.

Ipswich's major winter signing Richie Worrall is one of half of the Witches' challenge alongside Testimonial man Morten Risager.

Supporters should note the 7pm start-time, which is half an hour earlier than in previous seasons.

GROUP A: WORKINGTON – Josh Grajczonek/Rene Bach, PETERBOROUGH – Lasse Bjerre/Ulrich Ostergaard, REDCAR – Richard Lawson/Aaron Summers, IPSWICH – Richie Worrall/Morten Risager, NEWCASTLE – Stuart Robson/Lewis Kerr.

GROUP B: EDINBURGH – Sam Masters/Max Fricke, SOMERSET – Nick Morris/Olly Allen, PLYMOUTH – Rasmus Jensen/Kalle Katajisto, BERWICK – Claus Vissing/David Bellego, SHEFFIELD – Simon Stead/Leigh Lanham.
Copyright Notice :  The text content of articles appearing on this website may be copied and/or reproduced for other media outlets and formats providing the article remains intact and unedited, and the source is clearly acknowledged as "www.workingtoncomets.co"
Last Updated :  Mon 30 Jun 2014, 17:36 UK
www.workingtoncomets.co - official club website.
©2019 Workington Speedway. All Rights Reserved.

Dave Payne, Adrian Randall