Find us on Facebook
  Follow us on Twitter
Comets win the Border Trophy!
Photo by Adrian Randall
Sun 26 Oct 2014 by Comets Press Office
The Comets closed the door on their 2014 Derwent Park campaign last night by defeating the Berwick Bandits 57-38 and so clinching the Border Trophy with a 98-86 aggregate victory.
Premier League Play-off/Border Trophy 2nd leg
Play-off Group Match Points: Workington 3 Berwick 0
Border Trophy Aggregate scores: Workington 98 Berwick 86

The Comets ended their 2014 home campaign with a comfortable 57-38 victory over their oldest rivals the Berwick Bandits in their last play-off group match, which was also to act as the second leg of the Border Trophy.

This saw the Comets collect three play-off group points but with their play-off hopes ended by Edinburgh four weeks ago, this success meant that they came out on top in their Border Trophy clash with the Bandits by an aggregate score of 98-86.

Comets riders took the chequered flag in twelve out of the fifteen races, with only Claus Vissing (twice) and former Comet Kevin Doolan (once as a TR) crossing the line first for the Bandits.

Six Comets won at least one race and four of the side were paid for double figures while skipper Rene Bach only missed out on a paid maximum when defeated by Claus Vissing in heat 15.

The Comets opened up a healthy lead by racing to three 5-1's in the first five races and although the Bandits took an extra five points from their two TR rides they never troubled the Comets throughout.

Workington had to use two guests; Peterborough's former Comet Ulrich Ostergaard again deputised for the injured Josh Grajczonek while Scunthorpe's National League rider Ryan MacDonald came in as a late replacement for the ill Joe Jacobs. Meanwhile Berwick had Ipswich's former Comet Ritchie Hawkins in as a guest at reserve for the injured Matthew Wethers while National League rider Danny Phillips rode in place of their unavailable French rider David Bellego. Additionally they operated Rider Replacement for Danish rider Steen Jensen, who is with-holding his services for the club.

But, the Comets led throughout and even a short rain shower in heat 9 couldn't dampen their enthusiasm as they aimed to finish the season in style.

Kyle's victory in heat 13 ensured that the Comets won the match while a fine 5-1 from Mason and Simon in heat 14 meant the Comets would end the season the way they began it - with a trophy - having won the Ian Thomas Shield at the start of the season - if only they had been the major trophies on offer instead such as the league title and the knockout cup - but maybe next year?

Rene Bach 13+1, Ricky Wells 11+1, Simon Lambert 10+2, Mason Campton 9+1, Ulrich Ostergaard 7+1, Kyle Howarth 7, Ryan MacDonald 0.

Kevin Doolan 12, Claus Vissing 10, Ritchie Hawkins 6+1, Matej Kus 6, Alex Edberg 4+2, Danny Phillips 0, RR for Steen Jensen.
Copyright Notice :  The text content of articles appearing on this website may be copied and/or reproduced for other media outlets and formats providing the article remains intact and unedited, and the source is clearly acknowledged as ""
Last Updated :  Sun 26 Oct 2014, 15:59 UK - official club website.
©2019 Workington Speedway. All Rights Reserved.

Dave Payne, Adrian Randall