Due to demand Tai Woffinden is now to do an EXTRA SHOW at Workington earlier the same day!
  Find us on Facebook
  Follow us on Twitter
Kyle Howarth Crowned British under-21 Champ!
Photo by Dave Payne
Tue 14 Apr 2015 by Comets Press Office
Kyle Howarth raced to victory in Tuesday evening's British under-21 Championship Final at Coventry.
Comets rider Kyle Howarth has been crowned the British under-21 Champion after a dramatic night at Coventry's Brandon Stadium.

The 21-year-old Workington asset stormed to a sensational victory in the re-run of the Grand Final to pass the night's hitherto unbeaten rider Robert Lambert (Peterborough & King's Lynn) and take the title at what was his last opportunity at this level.

Howarth, along with Lambert, had qualified straight through to the Grand Final as they were the top two scorers after the twenty qualifying heats, with Lambert on an unbeaten 15-point score while Howarth was a point behind him on 14 points after Lambert had passed him when they met in heat 5.

Joining them in the final were Stefan Nielsen and former Comet Ashley Morris, who was also having his last opportunity in the competition before his age prevented him taking part.

However, when the tapes rose Kyle Howarth stormed into the lead but Ashley Morris fell on turn two and the race was stopped with Morris excluded.

In the re-start it was Lambert that made the gate this time around, but a superb charge from Howarth saw him round him on turns three and four of the opening lap before pulling away and racing to the chequered flag to collect the biggest win of his career to date.

All this was even more remarkable as it was achieved aboard his second machine after Oliver Greenwood had brought Kyle off on the opening lap of his final qualifying ride, wrecking his number one machine.

But, having narrowly failed to lift the title on previous occasions it was fitting that he finally achieved it at his last opportunity, and in addition to the trophy Kyle will become the first rider to be presented with the Lee Richardson Memorial Shield at the British Final at Wolverhampton on June 15th. This is in memory of Britain's former World under-21 Champion, who tragically lost his life in a track crash in Poland in 2012.

Success in the British Championship means that Kyle will represent Great Britain in this year's World under-21 Championship qualifying rounds.

However, before that Kyle will be parading his British under-21 Championship trophy at Derwent Park on Saturday evening ahead of the Comets home League Cup tie against Glasgow.

BRITISH UNDER-21 FINAL, Coventry, Tuesday 14th April 2015

QUALIFYING SCORES: Robert Lambert 15, Kyle Howarth 14, Ashley Morris 12, Max Clegg 12, Stefan Nielsen 11, James Shanes 9, Josh Bates 8, Marc Owen 7, Ben Morley 7, Oliver Greenwood 6, Connor Coles 5, Tom Stokes 5, Connor Mountain 4, Danny Phillips 2, Josh Bailey 2, Ryan Terry-Daley 1, Danny Verge (reserve) 0.

SEMI-FINAL: (re-run) Morris, Nielsen, Shanes, Clegg (f.exc).

GRAND FINAL: (re-run) Howarth, Lambert, Nielsen, Morris (f,exc).
Copyright Notice :  The text content of articles appearing on this website may be copied and/or reproduced for other media outlets and formats providing the article remains intact and unedited, and the source is clearly acknowledged as "www.workingtoncomets.co"
Last Updated :  Wed 15 Apr 2015, 03:01 UK
www.workingtoncomets.co - official club website.
©2019 Workington Speedway. All Rights Reserved.

Dave Payne, Adrian Randall