Due to demand Tai Woffinden is now to do an EXTRA SHOW at Workington earlier the same day!
  Find us on Facebook
  Follow us on Twitter
Comets v Rockets Race-day Update
Photo by Dave Payne
Sat 16 May 2015 by Comets Press Office
Tonight at 7pm the Comets entertain the Rye House Rockets in the 1st round, 1st leg, of the Premier League Knockout Cup, which this year is sponsored by Travel Plus Tours.
The Comets will be looking to score as many points as possible to take down to Hertfordshire tomorrow, where the second leg gets underway at Hoddesdon at 5pm.

There are no tactical rides in the Knockout Cup so it is a straight race to 91 points, which would see the winners claim aggregate victory and face either Berwick or Ipswich in the next round of the competition, which is the quarterfinal stage.

The weather forecast is for a dry day with light winds and a combination of sunshine and broken cloud ahead of the 7pm start time at Derwent Park.

Making his Comets debut this evening is the Comets new signing, 29 year-old Australian, Matthew Wethers, who will occupy the number 2 position in the new Comets line-up with Ricky Wells moving to the number 4 slot.

Meanwhile the Rockets, who include former England rider Edward Kennett and exciting new Dane Nikolaj Jakobsen in their side, will be utilising Rider Replacement for the injured Steve Boxall at number 2 and will no doubt arrive at Derwent Park full of confidence following their 54-36 Premier League victory away at Scunthorpe last night, where reserve Kasper Lykke top-scored with 15 points. A reminder if any were needed that tonight promises to be a hard-fought and entertaining match not to be missed.

The referee this evening is Jim McGregor and the teams line-up as follows:

Workington ‘Thomas Armstrong' Comets:
1 Kenneth Hansen, 2 Matthew Wethers, 3 Rene Bach (c), 4 Ricky Wells, 5 Kyle Howarth, 6 Nicki Barrett, 7 Nathan Greaves.

Rye House ‘Restart' Rockets:
1 Edward Kennett (c), 2 Rider Replacement for the injured Steve Boxall, 3 Anders Mellgren, 4 Robin Aspegren, 5 Nikolaj Jakobsen, 6 Daniel Greenwood, 7 Kasper Lykke.
Copyright Notice :  The text content of articles appearing on this website may be copied and/or reproduced for other media outlets and formats providing the article remains intact and unedited, and the source is clearly acknowledged as "www.workingtoncomets.co"
Last Updated :  Sat 16 May 2015, 10:15 UK
www.workingtoncomets.co - official club website.
©2019 Workington Speedway. All Rights Reserved.

Dave Payne, Adrian Randall