Find us on Facebook
  Follow us on Twitter
Comets v Scunthorpe - Race Day Update
Photo by Dave Payne
Sat 27 Jun 2015 by Comets Press Office
Comets aim to take the sting out of the Scorpions tonight!
Tonight, starting at 7:00pm, the Comets entertain the Scunthorpe Scorpions in a Premier League fixture, with the Comets looking to extract revenge for their defeat at the Scorpions own Eddie Wright Raceway two weeks ago.

A fine evening is forecast and everything is in place for what promises to be another entertaining evening of speedway.

The Comets go into the match without the in-form Ricky Wells, who is today competing in Latvia in the GP Qualification semi-final at Riga, which gets underway at 4:15pm UK time.

In his absence the Comets will operate Rider Replacement, with everyone except number one, Kyle Howarth, eligible to take a ride.

Making his first appearance back at Derwent Park since Bank Holiday Monday (25th May) is reserve Nicki Barrett, who has been out of action with a shoulder injury for a month before making his track return two days ago at Sheffield.

For the Scorpions, they still have number one Josh Auty out of action with a hand injury, while young Aussie Ryan Douglas also misses the fixture due to a back injury. Former Scunthorpe rider, and now current Peterborough rider, Michael Palm Toft, will be riding as a guest in place of Ryan Douglas.

Palm Toft was due to ride for the Comets this season before pulling out of the agreed deal some weeks later, stating that he was no longer able to ride in the UK this year. However as the season began he joined Peterborough as cover for the injured Adam Roynon and has now agreed to stay with them all year. He is sure to get a warm reception at Derwent Park. Meanwhile, making his first appearance at Derwent Park tonight is young Finn, Nike Lunna, who from all reports should certainly be one to watch this evening!

The teams line up as follows:

Workington ‘Thomas Armstrong' Comets
1 Kyle Howarth, 2 Rusty Harrison, 3 Rene Bach (captain), 4 Matthew Wethers, 5 Rider Replacement for Ricky Wells, 6 Nicki Barrett, 7 Kenneth Hansen.

Scunthorpe ‘Fluid Air Power' Scorpions
1 Rider Replacement for Josh Auty, 2 Theo Pijper (captain), 3 Michael Palm Toft (Guest for the injured Ryan Douglas), 4 Carl Wilkinson, 5 Alex Davies, 6 Ben Wilson, 7 Nike Lunna.
Copyright Notice :  The text content of articles appearing on this website may be copied and/or reproduced for other media outlets and formats providing the article remains intact and unedited, and the source is clearly acknowledged as ""
Last Updated :  Sat 27 Jun 2015, 15:07 UK - official club website.
©2019 Workington Speedway. All Rights Reserved.

Dave Payne, Adrian Randall