Find us on Facebook
  Follow us on Twitter
Berwick v Comets race-day update!
Photo by Dave Payne
Sat 29 Aug 2015 by Comets Press Office
Tonight sees the Comets travel over to Berwick for what is a 'must win' clash with the Berwick Bandits if they are to maintain their hopes of a play-off place this season.
However, the Comets task has been made harder than it would have been had the two sides met last week!

Following six successive home defeats the Bandits have totally revamped their side in time for this weekend.

Argentine rider Fernando Garcia has now ridden 12 matches and this enables his average to drop from 5.00 to 3.00, which now puts him down at reserve. This would then have moved Swede Alex Edberg into the main body of the team but, by utilising the two extra points that Garcia's official average has freed up they have been able to replace Edberg with fellow-Swede Anders Mellgren, who was released by Rye House as they brought Peterborough's Robert Lambert into their side.

However, the Bandits have been hit by a shoulder injury to their number one Thomas Jorgensen this week and have brought in the returning Ben Barker as a guest for him.

Meanwhile, Swedish recruit Mathias Thornblom has refused to return to the UK following a recent injury and is now deemed to be with-holding his services. As the Bandits are already utilising rider replacement for the long-term knee injury victim Claus Vissing this has allowed them to bring in a guest to replace Thornblom and they have brought in American racer Ryan Fisher, which strengthens the Bandits middle order considerably.

Comets team manager Tony Jackson said: "That is just typical of our luck to be meeting a much-changed and stronger Bandits side this weekend, but nevertheless we know we must get a result at Shielfield Park and we will be giving it everything to try and do so."

The teams line up at Shielfield Park tonight as follows:

Berwick 'K Dixon Building Services' Bandits
1 Ben Barker (Guest for the injured Thomas Jorgensen) 7.80
2 Anders Mellgren 6.09
3 Ryan Fisher (Guest for Mathias Thornblom) 7.00
4 Rider Replacement for the injured Claus Vissing 7.54
5 Kevin Doolan (captain) 6.78
6 Fernando Garcia 3.00
7 Richard Hall 3.96
8 Liam Carr 3.00

Workington 'Thomas Armstrong' Comets
1 Ricky Wells 7.84
2 Rider Replacement for the injured Rusty Harrison 5.98
3 Rene Bach (captain) 7.55
4 Kenneth Hansen 5.83
5 Kyle Howarth 7.62
6 Matt Williamson 3.00
7 Matthew Wethers 4.09
Copyright Notice :  The text content of articles appearing on this website may be copied and/or reproduced for other media outlets and formats providing the article remains intact and unedited, and the source is clearly acknowledged as ""
Last Updated :  Sat 29 Aug 2015, 09:15 UK - official club website.
©2019 Workington Speedway. All Rights Reserved.

Dave Payne, Adrian Randall