Due to demand Tai Woffinden is now to do an EXTRA SHOW at Workington earlier the same day!
  Find us on Facebook
  Follow us on Twitter
Campton races to second place finish!
Photo by Dave Payne
Wed 06 Jan 2016 by Comets Press Office
Mason Campton finished as runner-up in the second round of the 2016 Australian Championship, which took place at Undera Park (Victoria) today.
This was Mason's best-ever finish to an Australian Championship round (beating the third place finish he achieved at Gillman in 2014).

Having picked up 12 points from his five qualifying heats he was one of the three riders seeded directly to the final (behind Brady Kurtz (14) and Nick Morris (12)).

They were joined by Sam Masters, who won the 'B Final'.

The 'A Final' was won by Nick Morris, ahead of Mason and third-placed Sam Masters, while Kurtz crashed out.

Having picked up a third place behind Nick Morris and Brady Kurtz in his opening outing Mason won three of his next four heats, with his only other dropped point coming after he was headed home by Max Fricke in heat 13.

Meanwhile Ty Proctor collected four points on a night where he was hampered by a fall and bike trouble.

A tight first corner in heat 7 saw him clip Mason's rear wheel before hitting the fence, earning himself an exclusion. Then, in heat 11, when proving to be an early leader against Brady Kurtz and Jack Holder; machine problems caused him to slow. However, he was able to get going again to pick up the odd point in what was a three rider race as the fourth competitor, former Comet Josh Grajczonek, had withdrawn from the meeting following a crash in his opening ride.

The series now moves on to round 3 at Gillman (Adelaide, South Australia) on Friday before wrapping up the title chase at Mildura's Olympic Park on Sunday evening.
Copyright Notice :  The text content of articles appearing on this website may be copied and/or reproduced for other media outlets and formats providing the article remains intact and unedited, and the source is clearly acknowledged as "www.workingtoncomets.co"
Last Updated :  Wed 06 Jan 2016, 22:12 UK
www.workingtoncomets.co - official club website.
©2019 Workington Speedway. All Rights Reserved.

Dave Payne, Adrian Randall