Find us on Facebook
  Follow us on Twitter
Aussie Championship - third round news!
Photo by Dave Payne
Fri 08 Jan 2016 by Comets Press Office
Friday night's third round of the Australian Championship at Gillman (Adelaide) saw the two Comets riders involved suffer mixed fortunes while Brady Kurtz came out on top on the night.
For new Comet Ty Proctor (seen above leading Nick Morris and Cooper Riordan in heat 3) it was his most encouraging performance of the three championship rounds so far as he raced to 9 points from his five qualifying races, which left him in eighth place on the night, an agonising one place short of 'B Final' qualification.

Afterwards he declared himself 'much happier' with his performance but still wanting to do better in the fourth and final round at Mildura on Sunday evening.

Meanwhile, after finishing runner-up at Undera Park two days ago, Mason Campton was disappointed to end the third round with just five points to his name; falling some way short of a place in the finals.

A last place in his opening ride was followed by two second places. However, a broken chain shortly after leaving the start line in his fourth outing ended any lingering chance he had of making the finals.

Then, in his fifth and final outing he picked up a third place point when he followed eventual winner Brady Kurtz and new Comets team-mate Ty Proctor over the finish line.

The 'B Final' saw Sam Masters win a titanic battle with Nick Morris, Jack Holder and Max Fricke.

This put him into the 'A Final' where he lined up against top-scorers Brady Kurtz and Justin Sedgmen (each on 13 points) and Rohan Tungate (11 points).

But, at the end of the four laps it was Kurtz that took the chequered flag as he finished ahead of runner-up Rohan Tungate, with third-placed Justin Sedgmen coming home ahead of Masters, who tailed off in the latter stages.

Kurtz now has a narrow lead over the chasing pack, with the top vive riders covered by just six points, as the action concludes at Mildura's Olympic Park on Sunday evening (10th Novenber) and the 2016 Australian Champion is crowned.
Copyright Notice :  The text content of articles appearing on this website may be copied and/or reproduced for other media outlets and formats providing the article remains intact and unedited, and the source is clearly acknowledged as ""
Last Updated :  Sat 09 Jan 2016, 12:11 UK - official club website.
©2019 Workington Speedway. All Rights Reserved.

Dave Payne, Adrian Randall