Due to demand Tai Woffinden is now to do an EXTRA SHOW at Workington earlier the same day!
  Find us on Facebook
  Follow us on Twitter
Details of the fourth & final round of the Aussie Championship
Photo by Dave Payne
Sun 10 Jan 2016 by Comets Press Office
The Comets duo of Ty Proctor and Mason Campton scored 9 and 6 points respectively in the fourth and final round of the Australian Championship at Mildura's Olympic Park today (Sunday).
For the second successive round Ty Proctor's 9 points saw him finish in eighth place on the night and so just miss out on a place in the 'B Final' by one position.

However, he ended the night on a winning note by leading his final ride from tape to flag and in doing so defeated 'A finalist' runner-up Max Fricke.

Earlier he had also won his second ride, heading home Mason in the process, but third places in his other three outings cost him a place in the 'B Final'.

Meanwhile Mason included a race win in his six-point tally as he ended the four-round series on 36 points while Ty ended with 28 points.

Poole-bound Brady Kurtz won the 'B Final' by a bike length from Nick Morris to claim his place in the 'A Final' but it was local rider Justin Sedgmen that emerged victorious in the 'A Final'.

Sedgmen finished ahead of Max Fricke and Sam Masters, while Brady Kurtz, despite a tape exclusion in the 'A Final' won the Australian Championship overall by a single point, which he had gained by way of his last place in the 'A Final'.

In the closest of finishes Brady Kurtz ended the series on 55 points, ahead of Sam Masters (54), Max Fricke (52) and Rohan Tungate (51) after four enthralling rounds; with the destiny of the title not known until the very last race of the series.

For the two Comets involved it provided four very competitive meetings in just over a week and, most importantly, they both came through the meetings unscathed!
Copyright Notice :  The text content of articles appearing on this website may be copied and/or reproduced for other media outlets and formats providing the article remains intact and unedited, and the source is clearly acknowledged as "www.workingtoncomets.co"
Last Updated :  Sun 10 Jan 2016, 14:07 UK
www.workingtoncomets.co - official club website.
©2019 Workington Speedway. All Rights Reserved.

Dave Payne, Adrian Randall