Due to demand Tai Woffinden is now to do an EXTRA SHOW at Workington earlier the same day!
  Find us on Facebook
  Follow us on Twitter
Championship Fours on Sunday at 2pm!
Photo by BSPA
Thu 28 Jun 2018 by BSPA and Comets Press Office
This year's event takes place at Redcar and features all 11 Championship Clubs.
ALL eleven Championship clubs will compete at Redcar in the ever-popular Fours tournament this Sunday (July 1st).

A 34-race programme is in prospect for supporters, and with all clubs competing in the same qualifying group every race will be relevant to their chances.

The 22-heat qualifier will involve each club on eight occasions, with each rider competing twice.

The format ensures that each club races from every gate position twice, each rider races from a different gate in his two rides, and also faces three different opponents across his two outings.

Additionally, each club faces representatives from every other club on a minimum of two and a maximum of three occasions.

The top four clubs after the qualifier will progress to the 12-heat Final, which is run over the standard Fours format and will involve each club retaining the same helmet colours throughout that section of the meeting.

Peterborough defend the trophy which they won at the East of England Arena last season, with Scott Nicholls, Ulrich Ostergaard, Michael Palm Toft and Bradley Wilson-Dean forming their quartet.

The newcomers to the league this season, Lakeside, enter the competition in strong form with a run of Championship victories propelling them into title contention and skipper Richard Lawson feels the Fours offers them an early opportunity to put silverware into the Purfleet cabinet.

Lawson said: “The Fours is quite a fun event to be a part of and one I won with Workington a few years ago. There have been other occasions where I have gone close with teams and I believe we have a strong unit that can challenge at Redcar. I think we should be pushing for the trophy, definitely."

With Nicolai Klindt and Rene Bach racing in a prior engagement in Poland the Comets quartet is made up of: Dan Bewley, Rasmus Jensen, Mason Campton and Ty Proctor, with Kyle Bickley at reserve.

Gates open at midday at the Media Prima Arena on Sunday, with the event getting underway at 2pm. Admission prices are £20 adults, £15 concessions, £5 children (5-15) and under-5s free.
Copyright Notice :  The text content of articles appearing on this website may be copied and/or reproduced for other media outlets and formats providing the article remains intact and unedited, and the source is clearly acknowledged as "www.workingtoncomets.co"
Last Updated :  Sun 01 Jul 2018, 00:05 UK
www.workingtoncomets.co - official club website.
©2019 Workington Speedway. All Rights Reserved.

Dave Payne, Adrian Randall