Find us on Facebook
  Follow us on Twitter
Comets Scoop Team of the Year Award!
Photo by Dan Moody
Fri 30 Nov 2018 by Comets Press Office
The Comets capped off a fine 2018 season by being named 'Team of the Year' at the Cumbria Sports Awards.
The prestigious event took place this evening (Friday) at the Low Wood Bay Hotel, Windermere, where Cumbria's finest sporting talent were in attendance amongst a packed room, which also included the special guest, former Great Britain athlete Jenny Meadows.

Whilst Speedway has been recognised in the past; with both Carl Stonehewer (2001) and Craig Cook (last year) being recipients of awards, this is the first time that the Comets, as a team, have won an award at the event.

But, after successfully completing the Championship League, KO Cup and Shield treble they can now add 'Cumbria Team of the Year' to their list of honours for 2018.

The Comets promotion team of Laura Morgan, Steve Whitehead and Tony Jackson along with Commercial Manager Dan Moody, were on hand to represent the club and collect the award.

A delighted club owner Laura Morgan said: "It is fantastic to have been nominated for, and then to win, this award; which is not only recognition for the club and their achievements this year, but it is also recognition for the sport of speedway too.

"Obviously without the efforts of the riders throughout the season then this would not have happened and we thank them all for what they did for the club in achieving everything that we and the supporters could have hoped for.

"It's a shame that they are now scattered in all directions following the end of the season and could not all be here tonight, but they made history and so this award is really for them!"
Copyright Notice :  The text content of articles appearing on this website may be copied and/or reproduced for other media outlets and formats providing the article remains intact and unedited, and the source is clearly acknowledged as ""
Last Updated :  Sat 01 Dec 2018, 02:55 UK - official club website.
©2019 Workington Speedway. All Rights Reserved.

Dave Payne, Adrian Randall